• Telesur Señal en Vivo
  • Telesur Solo Audio
  • facebook
  • twitter
michelle bachelet, reuters

michelle bachelet, reuters

Publicado 18 junio 2014


The President of Chile Michelle Bachelet traveled to Punta Mita, in the western Mexican state of Nayarit, where the XI Summit of the Pacific Alliance will take place tomorrow, when she plans to propose an expansion of the commercial pact to other Latin American countries.

The Chilean head of state's presidential plane was grounded for repairs and she was forced to travel in a jet along with only six of her closest collaborators.

Bachelet was forced to travel without the press entourage and other members of her delegation that will be participating in the business part of the summit.

The President of Chile, Michelle Bachelet, will travel to Mexico tomorrow for the Pacific Alliance Summit, where she will propose that the mechanism be expanded commercially and geographically.

Fernando Estenssoro, professor of the University of Santiago, said the Chilean head will demonstrate in Mexico that she bases her foreign policy on improving and increasing relations with Latin America through existing regional agreements and conglomerates, such as the Pacific Alliance, the Southern Common Market (Mercosur) and the Bolivarian Alliance of the Peoples of Our America (Alba, by its Spanish acronym).

“President Bachelet’s proposal is aimed at integrating all of these economic pacts, rather than confronting their ideologies,” he said.

“The specific mechanism of regional integration is not yet clear and so the Summit in Nayarit is precisely part of the process to define the political criteria,” he added.

In May 13, Bachelet met with Ecuadorian President Rafael Correa and told him that “we don’t see the Pacific Alliance as an entity that should turn its back on the Atlantic or that it should exclude other countries and this is something she plan son reiterating in Mexico.”

During the Summit, the countries of the Pacific Alliance have planned the launching of the Latin American Integrated Market (MILA, by its Spanish Acronym), which will incorporate de stock markets of the member states.

The instruments of adherence to the Alliance and the cooperation mechanisms with the observer countries (32 in total) will also be defined during the high-level meeting.

The process of the integration of Costa Rica and Panama into the Alliance will also be discussed.

La IX Cumbre de la Alianza del Pacífico será inaugurada por el presidente mexicano Enrique Peña Nieto este jueves y se prolongará hasta mañana viernes.

Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto was scheduled to inaugurate the two day meeting Thursday evening. Mexico will take over the presidency pro témpore of the Alliance, which is considered to be the eighth economy in the world.

The Alliance is integrated by Mexico, Colombia, Chile and Peru, and includes 32 observer states, such as Ecuador, El Salvador, Costa Rica, United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Canada, France, Finland, among others.

Nota sin comentarios.